Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

May 17, 2013

Governor Quinn Requests Federal Disaster Aid for Families and Businesses in 16 Additional Counties
More Than 800 Homes Damaged by Floods in 16 Counties

SPRINGFIELD – Governor Pat Quinn today asked the federal government to add 16 Illinois counties to a recent federal disaster declaration for 11 counties hit by widespread flooding in mid-April. Counties included in today’s request are Bureau, Crawford, Henderson, Knox, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, Peoria, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell, Warren and Woodford.

“We are continuing to do everything possible to help the families and businesses who are recovering from this historic flood,” Governor Quinn said. “I want to thank President Obama for his fast approval of our first request for federal assistance, and I urge quick federal approval of this request so people in these counties can access the critical help they need.”

The federal disaster declaration will help people and businesses in the 16 new counties by allowing them to apply for grants and loans to assist with storm-related losses. According to reports from the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA), more than 800 flood-damaged homes were found in the counties requested today, including 14 homes that were destroyed and 202 with major damage.

On May 10, President Obama approved Governor Quinn’s request for a major disaster declaration for Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, McHenry and Will counties. To date, more than 16,000 applications for assistance have been submitted from those 11 counties.

As more damage assessments are completed, Governor Quinn will request assistance for additional counties. Personnel from IEMA, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and affected communities have documented damage to more than 4,300 homes since April 29.

Governor Quinn will also seek federal assistance to help local governments recoup 75 percent of their eligible flood-related costs. Since May 6, IEMA and FEMA have been meeting with local government officials to document expenses incurred for emergency protective measures, debris removal and repair or replacement of roads, bridges and other public facilities. That information is needed to support a request from the governor.

Governor Quinn declared a total of 49 counties state disaster areas after torrential rains caused widespread flash and river flooding. Those counties include: Adams, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Champaign, Clark, Cook, Crawford, DeKalb, Douglas, DuPage, Fulton, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Kane, Kendall, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Lawrence, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Mercer, Monroe, Morgan, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Scott, Stark, Tazewell, Warren, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford.


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2016 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us