Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

April 22, 1999


SPRINGFIELD -- Governor George H. Ryan's "15-20-Life" proposal to create tougher sentences for criminals who threaten their victims with guns, unanimously passed the House Judiciary Committee today.

Senate Bill 1112 amends the criminal code of 1961, cannabis control act, controlled substance act, and the Unified Code of Corrections and seeks additional penalties after a conviction of certain felonies. The bill passed the committee on a 13 to 0 vote.

"The way to deal with violent criminals is to apply swift and certain consequences," Ryan said. "The '15-20-Life' bill will give the judiciary the tools that are needed to keep criminals behind bars." Senate Bill 1112 allows the courts to impose additional prison time to persons convicted of a felony including the following: first degree murder, predatory criminal sexual assault of a child, aggravated criminal sexual assault, criminal sexual assault, aggravated kidnapping, heinous battery, home invasion, armed robbery, aggravated vehicular hijacking, and various drug offenses. The felon will receive:

  • An additional 15 years in prison if the felon is in possession of a gun while committing a felony crime.
  • An additional 20 years if the felon is armed and intentionally discharges the weapon.
  • An additional 25 years to life if the felon is armed, intentionally discharges the weapon and causes great bodily harm or the death of any person.

    The legislation was sponsored by Senators Kirk Dillard, R-Hinsdale; Carl E. Hawkinson, R-Galesburg; Christine Radogno, R-La Grange; Wendell E. Jones, R-Palatine; David Sullivan, R-Park Ridge; Laura Kent Donahue, R-Quincy; Ed Petka, R-Plainfield; James "Pate" Philip, R-Wood Dale and Kathleen K. Parker, R-Northbrook.

    In the House, the legislation is sponsored by John Turner, R-Atlanta; Rick Winkel, R-Champaign; Bill O'Connor, R-Riverside; Renee Kosel, R-New Lenox; and Bill Mitchell, R-Decatur.

  • ###

    News Categories

     Governor's Office
     Lt. Governor's Office
     Economic Development
     Flag Honors
     Health/Human Services
     Opportunity Returns

    News Resources

     Search the News
     IIS Radio News
     RSS News Feeds
     e-News Subscriptions
     Communications Office
     Privacy Statement


    Sign up for an e-news subscription
    Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us