Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

April 7, 2009

Illinois Community College Board exec elected to chair national council

(Springfield)– Geoffrey S. Obrzut, president and chief executive officer of the Illinois Community College Board (ICCB), was elected chairman of the National Council of State Directors of Community Colleges (NCSDCC), at the organization’s annual meeting in Phoenix, AZ, on April 4.

“Being elected to this office by my peers from community college systems across the country is truly an honor,” said Obrzut. The position is unpaid with a term of one year.

The NCSDCC is an affiliated council of the American Association of Community Colleges. Obrzut has served as vice-chair for legislation and as chairman-elect of the council.

“This organization strives to influence national legislation and other policies that may have an impact on our community colleges and the students they serve,” he said.

Obrzut is a former state representative from the western Chicago suburbs and a former trustee of Triton College in River Grove. He has been the president and CEO of the ICCB since January, 2004. He currently resides in Frankfort, IL, with his wife, Mary.

The Illinois Community College System is the third largest community college system in the nation and comprises 48 community colleges in 39 districts covering all of Illinois. Illinois community colleges annually serve approximately a million students in college transfer courses, workforce development, continuing education, and adult education programs.

The Illinois Community College Board is the state coordinating board for community colleges. It comprises a chairperson and ten other members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate, and a nonvoting student member appointed by the ICCB Student Advisory Committee.


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us