www.illinois.gov

Pat Quinn, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Government
 Business
 Employment
 Education
 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 Visiting
 About Illinois
 Illinois.gov

Stay Informed

Your Government


Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General


 IGNN: State/All Press Release

ILLINOIS NEWS
The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
June 30, 2011

Illinois Transportation Department, Law Enforcement Officials Launch 4th of July Crackdown on DUI Offenders
Holiday Enforcement Mobilization Seeks to Enhance Safety, Remove Impaired Drivers and Ticket Unbelted Motorists

CHICAGO – The Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT), Illinois State Police and hundreds of local law enforcement agencies today are reminding motorists to drive sober or risk arrest this July 4th weekend. Law enforcement also reminded motorists to buckle up before driving or expect a safety belt citation to be issued.  The You Drink & Drive. You Lose crackdown began as IDOT revealed data showing the overwhelming financial costs associated with driving under the influence (DUI).

“The number of fatalities and injuries on Illinois roadways has declined in recent years due to many factors including effective traffic safety programs, excellent safety engineering, strategic partnerships with law enforcement and the fact that more motorists are buckling up today than ever before,” said Illinois Transportation Secretary Gary Hannig.  “Even with these accomplishments, however, impaired driving is still responsible for far too many motor vehicle deaths and injuries across Illinois. IDOT stands firm in its goal to eradicate the senseless act of drinking and driving on Illinois roadways.”  

In an effort that began on June 17 and runs through July 4, the Illinois State Police and approximately 300 local police and sheriff departments are conducting 200 roadside safety checks and more than 300 nighttime safety belt enforcement zones. Additionally, thousands of patrols will occur throughout the campaign in which law enforcement will be alert for impaired drivers and safety belt law violators. In all, more than $1 million in federal highway safety funds will be committed to this enhanced effort to keep Illinois roads safe through the holiday period.

Crash data indicates 319 people in Illinois died in crashes in 2009 that involved an impaired driver. This number represents 35 percent of the motor vehicle fatalities that occurred that year.
      
Driving under the influence (DUI) is a criminal charge prosecuted in court.  Legal penalties in court and driver’s license sanctions administered by the Illinois Secretary of State’s Office are significant.
 

Minimum DUI Penalties
Loss of driving privileges
First DUI
Second DUI
Third DUI
Eligible for Monitoring Device Driving Permit allowing driving relief with Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID)
Yes
No
No
Eligible for Restricted Driving Permit
No
Yes, after 1 year and only with a BAIID
Yes, after 1 year and only with a BAIID
Jail
Up to 364 days
Up to 364 days; mandatory 5 days (or 30 days community service)
Class 2 Felony with possible 3-7 years; mandatory 90 days imprisonment depending on facts
Community Service
Up to 25 days depending on facts
30 days (or 5 days in jail)
Mandatory 25 days depending on facts
Fines
Up to $2,500
Up to $2,500
Up to $25,000

 

The financial costs of a DUI are also very steep.

Average Costs of a DUI
Insurance
High-risk insurance – additional $1,500/year; required for 3 years
$4,500
Legal Fees
Uncontested plea and hardship driving permit
$5,000
Court Ordered Fines
Fine up to $2,500; law enforcement equipment fund $500; lab fee $150; reimburse towing and storage fees $500; trauma center fund $100
$3,750
BAIID Cost
Approximately $110/month during the suspension/revocation period, plus $100 installation fee
$760
Income Loss
Loss of 4 weeks income due to jail or community service, court appearances, evaluation and remedial education classes (based on yearly income of $40,000)
$4,000
Rehabilitation
Evaluation at $150 and basic remedial substance abuse class at $250
$400
Driver’s License Reinstatement
$500 plus $10 for a new license; $500 for multiple DUI offenders; $50 formal hearing fee
$560
Total Average DUI Cost
$18,970

“During the summer months, weekends provide families and friends with an opportunity to come together and enjoy the warm weather,” said Illinois State Police Director Hiram Grau. “As the July 4th weekend approaches, and the summer driving season shifts into gear, the Illinois State Police want to remind motorists to stay focused behind the wheel, obey all traffic laws and avoid unnecessary distractions. Our goal is to make the summer driving season as safe as possible.”

Data shows during last year’s July 4th weekend (6 p.m. on 7/2/2010 until midnight 7/5/2010), 10 people lost their lives and 780 people were injured in motor vehicle crashes in Illinois. Seven of those fatalities involved a drinking driver.

For more information about the You Drink & Drive. You Lose mobilization or IDOT’s Impaired Driving program, please visit www.drivesoberillinois.org.



###

News Categories

 State/All
 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Agriculture
 Budget/Fiscal
 Business
 Children/Families
 Culture
 Disabilities
 Economic Development
 Education
 Environment
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 History
 Infrastructure
 Opportunity Returns
 Recovery
 Safety/Security
 Technology
 Tourism/Recreation
 Transportation
 Workforce/Jobs

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement

Features

Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2014 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us